Check out everything you need to know about Insurance Ombudsman and its contact details.

History: The Insurance Ombudsman was incorporated by a Government of India Notification on 11th November 1998. Its main objective was rapid disposal of the grievances of the insured customers and to alleviate their problems entailed in redressal of those grievances. This institution is important for the protection of interests of policy holders and also builds their assurance in the system. The institution has helped to create and maintain the trust and confidence amongst the consumers and insurers.

Overview: Orders of appointment of the insurance Ombudsman is issued by the governing body of insurance council on the suggestion of the committee encompassing Chairman, IRDA, Chairman, LIC, Chairman, GIC and a representative of the Central Government. The governing body of insurance council comprises of representatives of insurance companies.

The governing body has appointed 12 Ombudsman in India allocating them different geographical areas as their areas of jurisdiction. The offices of the insurance Ombudsmans are situated at:

1. Bhopal
2. Bhubaneswar
3. Cochin
4. Guwahati

5. Chandigarh
6. New Delhi
7. Chennai
8. Kolkata

9. Ahmedabad
10. Lucknow
11. Mumbai
12. Hyderabad

Within 3 months of receiving a complaint, the ombudsman shall pass an award. The awards are obligatory upon the insurance companies. If the policy holder is dissatisfied with the award of the Ombudsman, he/she can contact other places like Consumer Forums and Courts of law for redressal of his grievances. As stated by the policy-holder’s protection regulations, every insurer must inform the policy holder and policy document in respect of the insurance Ombudsman for the intention of grievances redressal occurring if any afterwards.

Contact Details:
Office of the ombudsmanName of ombudsman & contact detailsAreas of jurisdictionAHMEDABAD
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
2nd Floor, Ambica House,
Nr. C.U. Shah College,
5, Navyug Colony,
Ashram Road,
AHMEDABAD – 380 014

Shri. P. Ramamoorthy
Tel.:- 079-27546150/139
Fax:- 079-27546142

State of Gujarat and Union Territories of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.BHOPAL
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
Janak Vihar Complex,
2nd Floor, 6, Malviya Nagar, Opp. Airtel,
BHOPAL – 462 011
(O) 0755-2769200, 2769202, 2769201
States of Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh.BHUBANESWAR
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
62, Forest Park ,
Shri. B.P. Parija
Tel.:- 0674-2596461/2596455
Fax:- 0674-2596429
State of Orissa
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
S.C.O. No. 101,102 & 103,
2nd Floor, Batra Building ,
Sector 17-D,
CHANDIGARH – 160 017
Shri. Manika B. Sonawane
Tel.:- 0172-2706196/5861/6468/5277
Fax:- 0172-2708274
States of Punjab , Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Union Territory of Chandigarh
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
Fatima Akhtar Court ,
4th Flr., 453(old 312 ),
Anna Salai, Teynampet,
CHENNAI -600 018
Tel.:- 044-24333678/664/668
Fax:- 044-24333664
State of Tamil Nadu, Union Territories – Pondicherry Town and Karaikal (which are part of Union Territory of Pondicherry)
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
2/2 A, 1st Floor,
Universal Insurance Building.,
Asaf Ali Road ,
NEW DELHI – 110 002
Shri. Surendrapal Singh
Tel.:- 011-23239611/7539/7532
Fax:- 011-23230858
States of Delhi & Rajashthan
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
’Jeevan Nivesh’, 5th Floor,
Nr. Panbazar over bridge, S.S. Road,
Guwahati – 781001(ASSAM).
Shri. D.C. Choudhury
Tel.:- 0361-2132204/2131307/2132205
Fax:- 0361-2732937
States of Assam , Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Tripura
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
6-2-46, 1st Floor,
Moin Court ,
Lane Opp.Saleem Function Palace ,
A. C. Guards,
Lakdi -Ka-pool,
HYDERABAD – 500 004.
Tel.:- 040-23325325/23312122
Fax:- 040-23376599
States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Union Territory of Yanam – a part of the Union Territory of Pondicherry
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
2nd Floor, CC 27/ 2603
Pulinat Building,
Opp . Cochin Shipyard,
M.G. Road ,
ERNAKULAM – 682 015
Shri. R. Jyothindranathan
Tel.:- 0484-2358734/759/9338
Fax:- 0484-2359336
State of Kerala , Union Territory of (a) Lakshadweep , (b) Mahe – a part of Union Territory of Pondicherry
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman, Hindustan Bldg. Annexe, 4, C.R. Avenue, 4th Floor, KOLKATA – 700 072.
TEL : 033-22124346/22124339
Fax : 033-22124341
Ms. Manika Datta
Tel : 033-22124346/22124339
Fax : 033-22124341
States of West Bengal , Bihar , Jharkhand and Union Territories of Andeman & Nicobar Islands
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
6th Floor, Jeevan Bhawan,
Phase 2, Nawal Kishore Road.,
Hazartganj ,
LUCKNOW – 226 001
Shri. G.B. Pande
Tel.:- 0522-2201188/31330/1
Fax:- 0522-2231310
States of Uttar Pradesh and Uttaranchal
Office of the Insurance Ombudsman,
3rd Floor, Jeevan Seva Annexe,
S.V. Road ,
Santa Cruz (W)
MUMBAI – 400 054
Tel.:- 022-26106928/360/6552/6960
Fax:- 022-26106052
States of Maharashtra & Goa